Sports news

Portuguese GP statistics: New world record for Lewis Hamilton

After winning the pole on Saturday afternoon, Lewis Hamilton went through a historic race to become the new F1 ‘record player’ and with it many other remarkable statistics. in the first race at Portimão.

Mercedes’ dominance continues to extend at the first race at the Portimão racetrack. This is the 13th consecutive leg the German team has won the first starting position, the sixth-longest series of achievements in F1 history.

Hamilton is the driver with the most victories in F1 racing history

The record belonged to Williams in the period 1992-93 when they had 24 poles in a row. Champion Lewis Hamilton won the 97th pole in his career, the 9th time in 2020 is also the first time in Portugal.

Hamilton is the driver with the most victories in F1 racing history

Valtteri Bottas once again lost to his teammate, having led all three trials, a scenario similar to what happened at Mugello. Mercedes had the 9th of the last 10 races occupying the first starting line, only missed at the Sochi race. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) once again started the race in 3rd place, for the 6th time in the last 9 races.

Charles Leclerc and Ferrari for the third time this season ranked at 4th place, also the second consecutive leg of the Monaco driver to put the SF1000 of the ‘war horse’ into the top 4. With this result, Sebastian Vettel had the 9th leg. was defeated consecutively by his younger teammate for the seventh day.

Sergio Perez ranks 5th for the main Portuguese GP 2020 race

With this achievement, he has started in every 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th place at least once this season. However, Perez has never started the top 3 in his entire career.

Lando Norris has the third consecutive leg to start the race at No. 8 but was defeated by teammate Carlos Sainz in 6 of the last 7 qualifying runs. Pierre Gasly is ranked 9th and has made 7 entries in Q3 this season. Daniel Ricciardo is last in the top 10 after making a mistake at the end of Q2. In the last 5 races, he started in this position, Renault’s steering wheel did not score but he won a memorable 2017 Azerbaijan GP from 10th.

Tagged , ,