Koepka won the prestigious American golf award

Brooks Koepka, Ko Jin Young and veteran Scott McCarron are the owners of the 2019 awards from the American Golf Journalists Association (GWAA).

In the South category, Koepka received 44% of the vote compared to 36% of the two world Rory McIlroy. This is the second consecutive year he has won the GWAA award. Tiger Woods was also nominated, but only finished third.

Ko Jin Young overwhelmed Nelly Korda in the Women category. The number one Korean in the world has won four trophies, including two major, and has collected almost all of LPGA Tour‘s end of season awards. No longer set a record of 114 non-bogey pits, higher than the previous 110-hole mold of Tiger Woods.

In the Presbyterian category, McCarron won the award for three victories, taking the Schwab Cup at the end of the season and 14 times reaching the top 10 final through 26 events in the PGA Tour Champions.

GWAA’s award criteria are based on the outstanding performance of the year in the US professional arena, especially the major awards.

In May 2019, Koepka won the PGA Championship for the second time in a row, and raised the major collection to four trophies including the US Open 2017, 2018, and PGA Championship 2018, 2019. The consecutive coronation for three years helped him become the first golfer in history to successfully defend the championship title at US Open and PGA Championship.

The fourth major in his career also helped Koepka take over the world number one of Dustin Johnson and hold the position to the present.

In the remaining three major, Koepka finished in the top 4, with No. 2 at The Masters, runner-up US Open and T4 at The Open Championship. In addition, the 29-year-old golfer was crowned at two events and nine times ranked in the top 10 final at the PGA Tour.

2019 recorded for the first time in 28 years without a double title of “Excellent Golfer” when Koepka won in the poll of the American Professional Golf Association, while McIlroy won the PGA Tour.

Tagged , ,